Hispania was divided into provinces ruled by a governor. The evolution was the following:

  • At the beginning Hispania was divided into two provinces: Hispania Citerior and Hispania Ulterior 

  • Around 27 BC emperor Augustus reorganized Hispaia and it was divided into Baetica, Tarraconse and Lusitania.

Resultado de imagen de mapa division hispania romana el 27ac

  • In the 3rd century AD. Hispania had five provinces: Baetica, Lusitania , Trarraconense, Gallaecia and Cartaginense.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.